Latest Articles

Popular Articles

mur grass

Mur grass, also known as Zoysia Matrella, is a warm-season

information about beneficiary status of pm kisan samman nidhi

Title: Understanding the Beneficiary Status of PM Kisan Samman Nidhi

The Government of India introduced the Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi (PM-Kisan) scheme in 2019 to provide financial assistance to farmers in a bid to ensure their welfare. The scheme aims to supplement the income of small and marginal farmers by providing them with direct income support. In this article, we will delve into the details of the beneficiary status under the PM-Kisan Samman Nidhi and the eligibility criteria for availing the benefits.

Beneficiary Categories:
Under the PM-Kisan Samman Nidhi scheme, the government classifies farmers into three categories to determine their eligibility for financial assistance:

1. Small and Marginal Farmers: Small and marginal farmers form the primary target group of the scheme. These farmers own cultivable land up to two hectares. They are entitled to receive direct income support of Rs. 6,000 annually, which is provided in three equal installments of Rs. 2,000 each. This financial assistance is aimed at aiding them in meeting their agricultural expenses and improving their overall living conditions.

2. Socially and Economically Backward Classes (SEBC):
The PM-Kisan Samman Nidhi scheme also extends support to farmers from socially and economically backward classes. While the land holding criteria remain the same, the SEBC category encompasses farmers who may not fall in the small and marginal category but belong to backward classes and require assistance. These farmers can also receive the direct income support of Rs. 6,000 per year.

3. Status Holders:
The scheme also encompasses a third category of beneficiary status known as “Status Holders.” This category includes individuals who hold constitutional posts such as President, Vice President, Prime Minister, Governors, and more. However, these officials have the option to decline the financial assistance provided under the scheme.

Eligibility Criteria:
To be eligible for the PM-Kisan Samman Nidhi scheme, farmers must fulfill the following criteria:

1. Ownership of cultivable land: The farmer should hold cultivable land up to a maximum of two hectares, either in his/her name or in the name of the beneficiary’s family members.

2. Documented proof: Applicants must provide valid documents such as land ownership records, land revenue records, or land possession proofs to verify their eligibility.

3. Notable exclusions: The scheme excludes several categories of individuals from its benefits, including individuals in government service, individuals involved in institutional landholding, income tax assesses, and higher-paid professionals such as doctors, engineers, lawyers, and more.

Application Process:
To apply for the PM-Kisan Samman Nidhi scheme, eligible farmers can register themselves through various methods like the PM-Kisan portal, Common Service Centers (CSCs), or by visiting the local Agricultural Department office. The application typically requires providing essential personal details, ownership and occupation information, Aadhaar Card details, and bank account details.

The PM-Kisan Samman Nidhi scheme is an effective initiative by the Government of India to support small and marginal farmers, as well as those from socially and economically backward classes. By providing direct income support, this scheme alleviates financial burdens and enhances the livelihood of farmers. If you meet the eligibility criteria, make sure to apply for the scheme and take advantage of the benefits it offers.

Share This Article :

No Thoughts on information about beneficiary status of pm kisan samman nidhi