The Directorate of Research was established in December 1999. Out of the ten Agro-Climatic zones of the State, two are under the control of the Directorate of Research, Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture & Technology, Udaipur. The Directorate of Research is responsible for planning, coordinating, and monitoring need-based production-oriented agricultural research both basic and applied in the southern part of Rajasthan. There are two agro-climatic zones in the University service area viz, Sub-Humid Southern Plain and Aravalli Hills-IVa and Humid Southern Plain-IV b.

In these zones, there are two Agricultural Research Stations located at Udaipur and Banswara, two Agricultural Research Sub- Stations at Vallabhnagar, Pratapgarh, and one Dryland Farming Research Station at Arjia, Bhilwara (Map – 1). Various research programs are being carried out at these research stations specifically to develop improved varieties/ hybrids, economically viable production and protection technology for crops, farm mechanization, renewable energy sources, post-harvest technology, home science, animal production, etc.

Research activities within Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture & Technology, Udaipur are funded by the Indian Council of Agricultural Research, State Government, and other agencies. The All India Coordinated Research Projects (AICRPs) are the long-term projects which are planned and carried out each year based on the annual planning process between the SAUs and the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR). The AICRPs are financed on the basis of 75:25 percent from ICAR and the State, respectively. Ad-hoc research schemes of ICAR and schemes sponsored by other agencies are 100 percent financed activities. State-plan projects are funded by State Government and deal with mainly need-based regional problems of the zones.

Read More:

No Thoughts on Directorate of Research

Leave A Comment

Get The Best Blog Stories
into Your inbox!